First post!

So…for starters…why ‘tear a pheasant?’  Well, as I was scouring my mind (and the web) for a blog title, a line from one of my favorite films dashed across my memory…

“…but for lunch, don’t you usually tear a pheasant with Miss Lamont?”  Debbie Reynolds in Singin in the Rain.  The sole purpose of this blog is to explore and create new and wonderful lunch recipes…so…there it is.  Tear a Pheasant.  Have I ever actually eaten – or for that matter seen – a pheasant?  No.  But…I do like a good quippy line from an old musical.  Besides, every time I read the words I hear Debbie Reynold’s voice in my head…and who doesn’t love that!?

My plan is to create meals for lunch that are in line with my ‘perfect lunch’ criteria: easy to prepare, relatively inexpensive, delicious, beautiful, and will keep it’s beauty and splendor while sitting in my blue-striped lunch tote that sits beneath my feet at the Reference Desk all day…  More often than not…this involves quite a lot of prep time.  Mental prep.  Shopping.  Food prep.  Packing.  And then the next day at around noon or 1 pm…the big reveal! 

So I will research, and prepare, and taste, and take pictures…and share it with whomever glances this way.  I am not a chef, although I’ve been wearing the ‘best baker’ crown around the family for a few years…  I’ve not been to one culinary class, with the inevitable exception of home-ec of course, in school days.  I learn by doing…and watching…and tasting.  Just a regular person with a job, and only one hour in my long tedious workday to relax…and eat. 

We are approaching autumn…so expect a lot of homemade soups and slow-cooked dishes…utilizing fresh local ingredients like butternut and acorn squash, apples, pears, turnips, beets…oohh I’m getting hungry!  

Gotta think about tomorrow’s lunch…made a nice cauldron-sized pot of soup the other night…hhmmm…maybe jazz it up with some fresh toasty croutons?  Do I have any fresh veggies to mix in and reinvent it a little?  Have to think about this…

 

2 Responses to “First post!”

  1. I remember that scene, great film~

    “Kathy: Are you sure it’s all right? Being seen with me?
    Don Lockwood: You mean lofty star with humble player?
    Kathy: Not exactly, but for lunch don’t you usually tear a pheasant with Miss Lamont?
    Don Lockwood: Kathy, all the stories about Lina and me are sheer publicity.
    Kathy: Oh? It certainly seems more than that. From all those columns in the newspapers and articles in the fan magazines…
    Don Lockwood: You read the fan magazines?
    Kathy: I pick them up at the beauty parlor or the dentist’s office, just like anybody.
    Don Lockwood: Really?
    Kathy: Well… I buy four or five a month.
    Don Lockwood: Four or five…
    Kathy: But anyway, to get back to the point, you and Miss Lamont do achieve a certain intimacy in all your pictures…
    Don Lockwood: Did you say *all* our pictures?
    Kathy: I guess if I think about it I’ve seen eight or nine of them.
    Don Lockwood: You know I remember someone saying, “If you’ve seen one you’ve seen ’em all”.
    Kathy: I said some awful things that night, didn’t I?
    Don Lockwood: No. I deserved them. But I must admit I was hurt by them. So hurt in fact that I haven’t been able to think about anything but you ever since.”

    Well, I think it’s great that you want to cherish your lunch hour, and enjoy more than the quick sandwich or Lean Cuisine. It’s good to treat ourselves. Best of luck to you…

  2. Just popped round to say thanks for leaving a comment over at Very Berry… Brilliant name for a blog! It made me smile because we’ve just got back from a camping trip and there were lots of pheasants around – nearly ran over a couple, and every night we were entertained by the noises they make when they’re settling down to bed! Didn’t eat one though!

    I will add your blog to my Reader, I think you’ve got a fantastic idea – we’re always in search of a tasty lunch here.

Leave a Reply

